Monthly Reads

I love reading. And I read a lot. Last year my husband and I tried to keep a list of all the books we read but lost track in May. This was partially due to moving, since our previous list was written on a glass partition which we had to erase come moving time.

This year, however, I decided to keep track with good old fashioned paper and pen. And I set a goal for myself, mostly to pace myself from becoming overambitious. Every month I would read five books. That would set me up for 60 books in a year. I can do that. Easy. I decided to limit the amount of previously read books. That’s not to say I’m not going to reread some favourites now and again, but I want the majority of books I read this year to be new reads for me.  I am aiming for good variety of books- fiction and nonfiction alike. Some months there might be all fiction- as the case with February and my Neil Gaiman kick- and some months might be full of nonfiction.

So why am I doing this, you might ask? I want to encourage myself to continue to be well-read, to expand my reading boundaries, and to encourage others to read more often. If the reading portion of this blog at least gets you interested in picking up a new book, or even better- discussing books- then I will be very happy for us!

I heard on the radio in the beginning of last year that the average American reads six books a year- only a half a book a month if we’re still averaging things out. That’s what started this book tally of mine. As soon as I heard that, I immediately started wondering about the books I read the previous year. I know that people are just so busy these days and might not have as much time to read, but I do believe we have a tendency to just waste the free time we do have (I know I’m guilty of that too, hello social media!) and just all around not manage our time in the most fruitful ways for our mind and spirit.

I hope you join me, and if you have any book recommendations, please share!

-Kat

Leave a Reply

